Thursday, March 5, 2015

You're Invited: Women Leaders in Minnesota's Legislature

This Sunday, March 8 is International Women's Day. To learn about some of the women helping to lead our state and local communities, join the Center for the Study of Politics and Governance for a panel focused on "Women Leaders in the State Legislature." Hear from elected women in both parties about the challenges and opportunities they encounter as they engage in leadership and policy-making in Minnesota. 

Women Leaders in the State Legislature
Tuesday, March 10, 12:00 - 1:15 PM, Cowles Auditorium, Humphrey School of Public Affairs
Joyce Peppin (R- 34A) Minnesota House Majority Leader 

Erin Murphy (DFL- 64A) Deputy Minority Leader 
Sandra Pappas (DFL- 65) President of the Senate
Michelle Benson (R- 31) Assistant Senate Minority Leader 
Minnesota stands out nationally for the number of women serving in the state legislature and holding leadership positions. How have women leaders made a difference in the legislative decision-making process? What barriers still remain for women in politics and how can these be overcome? Join us to explore these questions with House Majority Leader Joyce Peppin, Deputy Minority Leader Erin Murphy, President of the Senate Sandra Pappas, and Assistant Senate Minority Leader Michelle Benson. The conversation will be moderated by former Speaker of the House, Steve Sviggum.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...