Monday, July 26, 2010

Nominate an Outstanding Young Minnesotan in 2010!

A proud 2008 recipient of a Minnesota Jaycees Ten Outstanding Young Minnesotans Award, I was even more pleased to nominate Anita Patel for the honor last year. This year, will you or someone you nominate be recognized for amazing contributions to the community? Read on for more details and submit your recommendation by August 1!

The Junior Chamber's "Ten Outstanding Young Minnesotans" (TOYM) The Ten Outstanding Young Minnesotans program is Minnesota’s only statewide recognition program for outstanding young leaders. The program acknowledges the efforts of young leaders that have contributed to our state through their service, thought and influence, community involvement, or entrepreneurship. Since 1950, the TOYM program has recognized the leadership of over 400 young people across the state, including such public figures and community leaders as Walter Mondale, Marlene Johnson, Dave Winfield, Tim Penny, Paul Douglas, Wheelock Whitney, and Martin Sabo.

Nominees need not be a member of the Junior Chamber and are selected on the basis of their achievement in any 3 of the following areas:
1. Personal improvement
2. Financial success or economic innovation
3. Social improvement or major contemporary issues
4. Philanthropic contribution or voluntary service
5. Politics or governmental service
6. Scientific or technological contribution
7. Legal reform
8. Cultural achievement (to include literature, history, education or all arts)
9. Academic leadership
10. Athletic accomplishment
11. Moral and religious leadership
12. Success in the influence of public opinion (news media and other means)
The deadline to nominate a Minnesota leader between the ages of 18-40 is August 1, 2010. To learn more and/or to submit a nomination, visit the MN Jaycees online.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...